Send dollars home. See who gives more rupees.
Ranked by the rupees that arrive, after fees.
Calculator
Any amount from $10 to $50,000.
Most INR for your $1,000
Remitly
₹95,922
₹3,685 more than the lowest shown here
($1,000 − $0 fee) × ₹95.9221 = ₹95,922
Rates checked 7:00 PM ET, Oct 1
Our link. We earn a little, it costs you nothing, and it changes no ordering above.
Where the numbers come from: Quotes come from Wise's public comparison data. Wise is one of the providers compared here. Rates are estimates until you confirm the transfer with the provider. The provider decides the final amount.
Remitly
Most INR₹95,922
₹95.92 per $$0 fee
DetailsNew customer offer($1,000 − $0 fee) × ₹95.9221 = ₹95,922
₹0.41 below the ECB reference rate (2026-10-01)
- Stated delivery time
- Not stated
- How it arrives
- Bank depositUPICash pickup
- How you pay
- Debit cardCredit cardBank account
Send with RemitlyOur link. We earn a little, it costs you nothing, and it changes no ordering above.
State Bank of India
₹95,642
₹95.64 per $$0 fee
Details($1,000 − $0 fee) × ₹95.6424 = ₹95,642
₹0.69 below the ECB reference rate (2026-10-01)
- Stated delivery time
- Not stated
- How it arrives
- Bank deposit
- How you pay
- Bank account
We have not confirmed this provider's own US-to-India page, so there is no button.
Western Union
₹95,544
₹95.54 per $$0 feeWallet in minutes, cash same day, bank up to five days
DetailsNew customer offer($1,000 − $0 fee) × ₹95.5443 = ₹95,544
₹0.79 below the ECB reference rate (2026-10-01)
- Stated delivery time
- Wallet in minutes, cash same day, bank up to five days From their own page
- How it arrives
- Bank depositCash pickupUPIMobile wallet
- How you pay
- Debit cardCredit card
Send with Western UnionNobody is paid for this link.
Instarem
₹95,538
₹95.54 per $$0 feeUsually within 1-2 business days
DetailsNew customer offer($1,000 − $0 fee) × ₹95.5380 = ₹95,538
₹0.79 below the ECB reference rate (2026-10-01)
- Stated delivery time
- Usually within 1-2 business days From their own page
- How it arrives
- Not stated
- How you pay
- Bank accountDebit cardCredit card
Send with InstaremNobody is paid for this link.
Wise
₹95,098
₹95.10 per $ after the fee$11.26 fee74% arrive in under 20 seconds, by Wise's own figure
Details($1,000 − $11.26 fee) × ₹96.1810 = ₹95,098
₹1.23 below the ECB reference rate, after the fee (2026-10-01)
- Stated delivery time
- 74% arrive in under 20 seconds, by Wise's own figure From their own page
- How it arrives
- Bank deposit
- How you pay
- Bank accountDebit cardCredit card
Send with WiseNobody is paid for this link.
OFX
₹92,237
₹92.24 per $ after the fee$5 feeMost within 1-2 business days of OFX receiving your funds
Details($1,000 − $5 fee) × ₹92.7004 = ₹92,237
₹4.09 below the ECB reference rate, after the fee (2026-10-01)
- Stated delivery time
- Most within 1-2 business days of OFX receiving your funds From their own page
- How it arrives
- Bank deposit
- How you pay
- Bank account
Send with OFXNobody is paid for this link.
Older quotes (3)
These quotes are more than a day and a half old in the source, so they are not ranked against the latest collection. The provider may be charging something different now.
- WorldRemit₹95,658 · checked 2 days ago
- Wells Fargo₹93,227 · checked 3 days ago
- Chase₹92,502 · checked 2 days ago
New customer offers
What providers say they give a first-time customer, in their own words. Each is shown with the day somebody read it.
Instarem
A special rate on a first transfer of $1 to $3,000
“Making your first transfer? Get a special FX rate on your transfer! Send between USD 1 and USD 3,000 today. T&Cs apply”
Offer terms · Checked on 2026-09-23
MoneyGram
$0 fees for new customers
“$0 fees for new customers”
Offer terms · Checked on 2026-09-23
Pangea
$0 transfer fee on your first send
“Get $0 Transfer Fee** on your first send.”
Offer terms · Checked on 2026-09-23
Remitly
A promotional rate on the first $6,000 you send
“New customers only. One per customer. Limited time offer. Any rates shown are subject to change. Promotional FX rate applies to first 6,000.00 USD sent.”
Offer terms · Checked on 2026-09-23
Western Union
$0 transfer fee on your first online transfer
“Get $0 transfer fee on your first international online transfer”
Offer terms · Checked on 2026-09-23
Xoom
A promotional rate on your first transfer (not cash pickup)
“Use the Xoom service through the Xoom mobile app or Xoom.com to send a USD funded transfer to China, Colombia (send for mobile wallet transfer only), Guatemala (sending to a debit card is excluded), India (cash pickup excluded), Mexico (cash pickup excluded) or the Philippines (sending to debit card only) and receive a promotional first time rate on your initial transfer ('Offer'). Offer begins on August 8, 2026, at 12:00:00 a.m. PDT ('Offer Period').”
Offer terms · Checked on 2026-09-23
Member referral links
Some providers reward a new customer who signs up through an existing customer's link. Members can share theirs here, and we check every one before anyone sees it.
Referral links may earn the person who shared them a reward. Offers and eligibility are set by the provider.
Sign in to share a linkRate history
Rate alert
Alerts are checked at 07:00, 13:00 and 19:00 Eastern against the European Central Bank's reference rate, which the ECB publishes once each working day. An alert fires once, then switches off, and arrives in your notification centre and as a phone push.
Sign in to set an alertHow this works
How a transfer from the US to India works
You pay a provider in dollars — usually from a bank account or a card. The provider converts the dollars to rupees at its own exchange rate, takes its fee, and pays the rupees out in India, most often into a bank account.
Two things decide how many rupees arrive: the fee and the exchange rate. Providers set both, and both change with the amount you send.
How we work out the rupees received
For each provider we take the fee off the amount you send, and multiply what is left by that provider's rate: (amount − fee) × rate. That is the figure each row leads with, and the row shows the calculation with its own numbers.
A quote whose numbers do not add up to within one rupee is left out and named, rather than shown with a figure we cannot explain.
Exchange rate versus effective rate
The exchange rate is what the provider applies after its fee. The effective rate is the rupees received divided by the dollars sent — it folds the fee in, so it is the one number that compares like for like.
That is why a higher headline rate can deliver fewer rupees: a provider with a better rate and a larger fee can end up behind one with a slightly lower rate and no fee.
Fee versus exchange-rate markup
A provider can charge you in two places. The fee is stated in dollars. The markup is the gap between the wholesale rate and the rate you are given, and it is usually not stated at all.
The European Central Bank's reference rate is shown beside each provider so you can see that gap. It is a wholesale figure for comparison; no consumer transfer is priced at it.
How long transfers take
Only the provider can say, and it varies with how you pay and how the money is collected. Where a provider states a delivery time on its own page, the row quotes it; where it does not, the row says nothing rather than guessing.
The US tax on transfers paid in cash
For transfers made after 31 December 2025, US law adds a tax of 1 percent when the sender pays with "cash, a money order, a cashier's check, or any other similar physical instrument" (26 U.S.C. §4475).
It does not apply when the money comes from an account at a US bank or other financial institution, or from a debit or credit card issued in the United States.
New-customer offers
Many providers offer a better rate or no fee on a first transfer. Those are shown only when you turn on "I'm new to a service", because most transfers are not a first transfer and a promotional figure in the headline would overstate every one after it.
An offer with a stated promotional rate is shown as a rupee figure labelled "if eligible". An offer stated only in words is shown in the provider's words.
Referral programmes
Some providers reward both the person who refers and the new customer. A member's referral link on this page may earn that member a reward. Eligibility is decided by the provider, not by us.
Bank deposit, UPI or cash pickup
Bank deposit sends rupees to an Indian bank account. UPI sends them to a UPI ID linked to an account. Cash pickup lets somebody collect cash at an agent location. Which of these a provider offers is shown on its row only where the provider's own page says so.
What to check before you send
Confirm the final amount on the provider's own screen before you pay — every figure here is an estimate until the provider confirms it.
Check the recipient's name and account details exactly, check whether the amount changes with how you pay, and check whether a promotional rate applies to your transfer or only up to a limit.
Questions
How many rupees does $1,000 send to India?
On rates checked at 7:00 PM ET, Oct 1, between ₹92,237 and ₹95,922 depending on the provider, across the 6 providers whose quotes were under 12 hours old. Of those, Remitly delivered the most. The provider confirms the final amount when you send.
Why doesn't the highest exchange rate always deliver the most rupees?
Because the fee is taken before the rate is applied. At 7:00 PM ET, Oct 1, Wise quoted ₹96.18 per dollar with a $11.26 fee, and Remitly quoted ₹95.92 with a $0 fee. On $1,000, Remitly delivered ₹95,922 and Wise ₹95,098.
How is the amount received worked out?
The fee comes off the dollars first, and what is left is multiplied by the provider's exchange rate: (amount − fee) × rate = rupees received. Every row on this page shows that calculation with its own numbers.
What is the ECB reference rate?
The European Central Bank publishes a reference rate for the dollar against the rupee each working day; the most recent here is ₹96.33 per dollar, for 2026-10-01. It is a wholesale rate for comparison — no consumer transfer is priced at it, and the gap between it and what a provider pays you is part of what the transfer costs.
How long does a transfer to India take?
It depends on the provider and how you pay. In their own words: Instarem, "Usually within 1-2 business days"; OFX, "Most within 1-2 business days of OFX receiving your funds"; Western Union, "Wallet in minutes, cash same day, bank up to five days"; Wise, "74% arrive in under 20 seconds, by Wise's own figure"; WorldRemit, "90% reach its partners in India within minutes"; Xoom, "UPI typically within 15 minutes". Providers not listed here do not state a time we could read on their own pages.
Is HelloStamped paid by these providers?
Some provider links on this page are ours: we may be paid if you use them. They never change the order, which is rupees received and nothing else. A member's referral link earns that member a reward.
The small print, in plain words
- Rates are estimates until you confirm the transfer with the provider. The provider decides the final amount.
- Quotes come from Wise's public comparison data. Wise is one of the providers compared here.
- HelloStamped does not handle your money. You send it with the provider you choose.
- This comparison is information, not financial advice.
How we make money
Some provider links on this page are ours: we may be paid if you use them. They never change the order, which is rupees received and nothing else. A member's referral link earns that member a reward.